BlackHatPlus.com

A forum about BlackHat and Beyond

How Can I Succeed In Web Dev?

by Randolph » 2016-01-30 8:13

I'm sure this question will be asked a lot, so let me be redundant and ask again!

Coming from a background that is more artistic (music composition and art) I have found it to be a real struggle to learn the code. I've been using Codeacademy for about 4 months now and have covered the basics of HTML5, CSS, Javascript, Ruby, PHP, Phython, JQuery, and Rails and AngularJS. It's been hours and I still feel like for all I've accomplished in autodidactism, I'm pretty confident in my abilities as a programmer. In art and music, I still put in countless hours but always felt like I could let my barriers go and soak into a sort of semi-meditative state of flow ... while programming was once the brain, and is very difficult to concentrate on (as my experience with math!).

I would like to know what other, more experienced programmer can tell of their experience in learning the code and whether or not it come naturally to you, or if like me, it was difficult and tedious every step of the way? I may be presumptuous to say this, but I imagine you do well in physics and mathematics discovered natural programming?

PS There is no way I reduce the benefits of creative programming ... in fact, I was determined to learn so that I can empower themselves to build ideas of my web application and do not rely on others to do it for me.
Randolph

by Christopher » 2016-01-30 22:07

The logic portion is what most struggle with. The syntax is not a big problem because it can be looked up.
I learned to read. Code Academy is poor, you have to do it their way and it is not the only or even the best way to do things.
Buy books onwhatever tickle your fancy and work through the problem it gives. But, the logical side is what will give the biggest problem.
Christopher

by Alexander » 2016-01-31 15:43

I have just finished my Bachelor's IT where I majored in Software / Web Development.