BlackHatPlus.com A forum about BlackHat and Beyond

Programming Tutorials

Is there a static site generator or CMS for something like t

by Norman » 2016-02-07 9:17

Is there a static site generator or CMS for something like this?
I've been asking everywhere, it can not seem to get any good answers. Some background. I created a project for my work (I am not a mechanic for a web developer). Basically graphics are very detailed html files (heavy) on mounting a machine disassemble, etc., so that the mechanics of other areas can work on computers that are unfamiliar. Its configured with a principal, then several sub-pages for each plant page, each pant has pages for each machine, then the procedures below them. Pages are in our company server, not the actual Internet. Right now I have about 30 pages html. Potentially there could be hundreds. So how do you manage such a huge place? I first heard in establishing a CMS, so it uses Bootstrap to make every page has exactly the same structure just with different pictures and data. Then read static site generators. The problem is that all the documentation I see if for blogs, this is something totally different. The thing is I'm not a web developer, I only know HTML, CSS, Javascript and am learning angle. Is there a static site generator or CMS for something like this?
Norman

by Frederick » 2016-02-07 21:03

I do not know what kind of mechanic who you are, but I would like to follow the design flow alldata.

Actually server side programming is needed. one page template is created and pulling page of information relevant to the piece of equipment from a storage device, such as a database.

Otherwise you are looking at hundreds of thousands of html files and makes the system unmanageable.
Frederick

by Hector » 2016-02-08 10:52

Bootstrap is not a CMS, it's just a library / JS CSS to help the layout of your site in terms of responsiveness, etc. It is useless in terms of management or organization of its contents.